Cinnamon & Nutmeg bananas

Hi Guys,

I thought I would post my recipe for my cinnamon & nutmeg bananas since its a recipe I make pretty frequently for breakfast. It gives you a little sweet fix in the morning without being loaded with additional sugar like some breakfast of the supermarket cereals can provide. I’m all about making food from fresh & love to incorporate spices when I can, so this breakfast idea is no different. I serve mine with natural yogurt (try and avoid the flavoured yogurts as they are usually full of additional sugar & flavourings), blueberries or pomegranate, nut butter & occasionally my homemade granola if I’ve made a big batch beforehand.

You will need:Β 

  • tsp coconut oil
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp maple syrup (optional)
  • 3 tbsp natural yogurt
  • frozen pomegranate OR blueberries
  • tsp nut butter of your choice (e.g. peanut, cashew, almond)
  • half cup homemade granola (optional) (see chocolate & date granola recipe)

To make:Β 

  1. Chop the banana into equal pieces.
  2. Add a tsp coconut oil into a frying pan and heat on medium heat for approx 1 min.
  3. Add the banana to the pan.
  4. Add the spices and maple syrup and stir.
  5. Cook for 3-5 minutes until golden and brown on each side, stirring frequently.
  6. Place the yogurt, fruit, nut butter and granola in a bowl (the bananas are equally as delicious with just natural yogurt & fruit if you don’t want the added extras)

& your done.

 

As always if you re-create let me know, enjoy!!

 

x

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon & Nutmeg bananas

Leave a Reply

